Last updated

Is Rum Gluten-Free?

Gluten Free Rum.

Are you looking for gluten-free alcohol? Or wondering if there is such a thing as gluten-free alcoholic drinks?

Look no further on account of the reason that you are about to learn about gluten-free alcohol that negatively impacts or interferes with your gluten-free diet.

Does Rum Have Gluten?

The kind of rum that are gluten-free alcohols are plain ones. Sugar cane is the source where plain rum is gotten, not wheat, barley, and rye. It doesn’t matter if the color of the rum is dark or white, as long as it is plain rum, then it’s harmless, unlike wheat alcohol. This should suffice to answer the question, “Does rum have gluten?”

To ensure that you want to maintain a gluten-free diet, you’ll discover that laying off rum that is either spiced or flavored will prove to be quite beneficial since it might not be gluten-free rum.

Whenever you’re wondering, “Does alcohol have gluten?” one thing you need to understand is that so long as they are alcohol made from wheat, barley, or rye, they do. There is no kind of booze that does not contain either barley, rye, or wheat; that is the reason gluten-free booze is difficult to find.

Finest Choices of Rum On A Gluten-Free Diet

There is no requirement for producers of spiced or flavored rums to make known the elements that are contained in their products. Most manufacturers use certain recipes that they don’t disclose. The harmless gluten-free rum that you should get is plain.

Gluten-free Piña Coladas and other kinds of mixed drinks

Most times, drinks that are mixed with rum are gluten-free, as is the case with pure rum. Since pure rum and coke are harmless for persons that follow a gluten-free diet, a rum-and-coke is also harmless and can fall under the category of gluten-free alcohol. A mixture of soda water, rum, lime juice, mint, and sugar is what makes a mojito – this also qualifies as one of the gluten-free alcoholic drinks. A mojito having flavored rum as an ingredient, might not be gluten-free alcohol.

The kind of rum that you ought to keep away from if you are following a gluten-free diet are drinks composed of many elements; a Long Island Iced Tea is a typical example. Gluten components could be used by manufacturers to flavor mixed drinks that have been prepared beforehand such as those meant for piña coladas. Other kinds of rum to watch out for are those with coconut or pineapple flavors, due to the possibility that gluten components are contained in them.

You won’t find any piña coladas (having labels) that don’t contain gluten in any cantinas or markets. However, you can make your own with the use of coconut cream and pineapple juice

.

Pina Colada Gluten Free.

Piña Colada (Gluten-free) Recipe

Ingredients: a jiggermast of rum, one and one-half jiggermasts of pineapple juice, pineapple slices, and one-half jiggermast of coconut cream.

Procedure:

  • Pour in the jiggermast of rum, jiggermasts of pineapple juice, and jiggermast of coconut cream into a glass bowl and stir to mix.
  • Pour some of the mixtures into a glass and place a slice of pineapple at the tip of your glass.

Conclusion

If the drink you prefer is rum and you are looking to follow and maintain a gluten-free diet, then you ought to try getting plain dark or light rum as it is gluten-free alcohol. If you feel like having a mixed drink, ensure that you check into their ingredients. This will keep you from assuming that what you’re having are gluten-free alcoholic drinks when they are not.

I hope this article was helpful to you. If you want to replenish your bar with interesting drinks, do not pass by our best alcohol reviews. Enjoy yourself now!

FAQs

Does rum have sugar?

Freshly distilled rum does not contain sugar; however, some distillers tend to add sugar to it. This is why it is important for you to avoid flavored rum or spiced rum if you are on a gluten diet.

What alcohol has gluten?

The kind of alcohol that has gluten is beer. Barley is one of the grains used in making beer and this is why it is not advisable for beer to be consumed by people on a gluten-free diet.

Is spiced rum gluten-free?

Freshly extracted rums are gluten-free alcoholic drinks, but rums with flavoring and spiced rums are not gluten-free. Flavored or spiced rum usually contains artificial sweeteners, which may perhaps contain gluten.

What rums are gluten-free?

The gluten-free rum types are pure distilled ones. Rum is made from molasses of sugarcane or juice from sugarcane, so they do not contain gluten. Though, with rums containing flavoring, gluten could be contained in them.

Tags: , vodka cocktails recipes, what is gin, what is vodka, best tasting vodka, what to mix with brandy, types of gin, brandy flavors, types of rum, best tasting tequila